France, Travel
Comments 2

Paris, je t’aime

Last weekend we took the kids out of school for an extra day and took off to Paris for our much-anticipated weekend in the city of light. It was the first time in Paris for each of us, which was kind of cool. We totally lucked out with amazing weather for the bulk of our trip, except for one bout of hard rain on Friday evening, while we ate dinner, so we remained nice and dry!

Our first glimpse of the twinkling Eiffel Tower and Pont Neuf.

Our first glimpse of the twinkling Eiffel Tower and Pont Neuf.

A walk after dinner our first night - they were so darned excited!

A walk after dinner our first night – they were so darned excited!

Oliver had especially been looking forward to our first trip to Paris. He knows all the big monuments and sights, and he wanted to see each and every one. So, we decided that this time around, our Paris weekend would be all about the BIG stuff. On his list of must-sees were the Tour Eiffel, l’Arc de Triomphe, the Louvre (he apparently had to see the Mona Lisa!), and Notre Dame. Derek and I added a couple of our own — the Musée d’Orsay and Jardins de Luxembourg. We decided that would be enough to pack into one three-day weekend, along with lots of walking and gawking at the incredible beauty around every. single. corner.

We got passes for the Batobus, an exceedingly touristy but fun way to get around Paris!

We got passes for the Batobus, an exceedingly touristy but fun way to get around Paris!

Sitting in the sun on the banks of the Seine, with the Louvre in the background. Every time we walked along the Seine, the kids and I started singing Mamma Mia (much to Derek's delight, obviously!)

Sitting in the sun on the banks of the Seine, with the Louvre in the background. Every time we walked along the Seine, the kids and I started singing “Our Last Summer” from Mamma Mia (much to Derek’s delight, obviously!)

I don’t think I need to talk too much about what we saw — you know it all already. So, I’ll just share some of our favourite photos of the things we did, with some captions to go along with. There are lots, so I’ve divided them into the three days of our visit. Here is day 1, as we saw it.

Notre Dame on our first morning out and about. Our apartment was less than 10 minutes' walk, on the right bank.

Notre Dame on our first morning out and about. Our airbnb was less than 10 minutes’ walk, on the right bank.

Charlemagne.

Charlemagne.

Inside the Notre Dame. Beautiful building and I loved the chandeliers, columns, and stonework. The stained glass was somehow underwhelming, and I wish we'd been able to fit in a visit to Saint-Chapelle on our trip -- next time for sure!

Inside the Notre Dame. Beautiful building and I loved the chandeliers, columns, and stonework. The stained glass was somehow underwhelming for me, and I wish we’d been able to fit in a visit see the windows in Saint-Chapelle this trip — next time for sure!

Arch details in Notre Dame.

Arch details in Notre Dame.

Chandeliers in every archway in Notre Dame. There was a choir singing while we were there - the sound was unbelievable.

Chandeliers in every archway in Notre Dame. There was a choir singing while we were there – the sound was unbelievable.

Pont Alexandre III leading to l'Hôtel des Invalides. I called it golden, Derek called it gaudy. :)

Pont Alexandre III leading to l’Hôtel des Invalides. I called it golden, Derek called it gaudy. 

Golden cherubs glowing in the sun, Pont Alexandre III.

Golden cherubs glowing in the sun, Pont Alexandre III.

A Paris requisite, Ladurée! So beautiful inside, walls painted with gorgeous scenes and gold leaf everywhere.

A Paris requisite, Ladurée! So beautiful inside, walls painted with gorgeous scenes and gold leaf everywhere.

Why yes, I did make them pose with the Ladurée macarons before eating them. They lived up to the hype, delicious!

Why yes, I did make them pose with the Ladurée macarons before eating them. They lived up to the hype, delicious!

L'Arc de Triomphe.

L’Arc de Triomphe.

L'Arc

Under l'Arc de Triomphe. Beautiful lines and stonework.

Under l’Arc de Triomphe. Beautiful lines.

The sculptures on the front of l'Arc de Triomphe.

The sculptures on the front of l’Arc de Triomphe.

The view from here! On top of l'Arc de Triomphe with the kiddos.

Look! I’m in a picture, and it’s not a selfie! Thanks, Derek 🙂

L'avenue des Champs-Élysées from the top of l'Arc de Triomphe. I loved this view!

L’avenue des Champs-Élysées.

The views from l'Arc de Triomphe were spectacular. This seemed to satisfy Oliver, as my big Mom-fail (according to him) was not buying tickets to go up the Eiffel Tower early enough, and they were sold out. No way we were waiting in the 2-hour lines. Next time I'll buy early!

The views from l’Arc de Triomphe were spectacular. This seemed to satisfy Oliver, as my big Mom-fail (according to him) was not buying tickets to go up the Eiffel Tower early enough, and they were sold out. No way we were waiting in the 2-hour lines. Next time I’ll buy really early. 😉

Just another photo of the Tour Eiffel.

Just another photo of the Tour Eiffel.

Eiffel Tower details, I liked looking up at the ironwork from below.

Eiffel Tower details, I liked looking up at the ironwork from below.

I wasn't sure that I would be so excited by seeing la Tour Eiffel. However, when we were there right below it, I couldn't help but feel pretty damned excited about it, and I couldn't stop snapping pics! She was kind of showing off in the beautiful weather...

I was convinced that I wouldn’t be so excited about seeing la Tour Eiffel. However, when we were there right below it, I couldn’t help but feel pretty damned excited about it, and I couldn’t stop snapping pics! She was kind of showing off in the beautiful weather…

A favourite family selfie.

A Paris family selfie, and one of my faves from the trip 😉

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

